The Australian Fashion Foundation tonight announced the 2016/2017 winners of its annual internship program. La Trobe Melbourne graduate and womenswear designer, Deanna Fanning, and UTS Sydney Honours graduate and menswear designer, Hannah Tan were each awarded a financial grant and a six month internship in the USA or Europe to pursue their talent on an international scale. The winners will each receive prizes worth more than AU$20,000.

“Deanna and Hannah both showed a strong, original point of view, and presented collections that were inspiring and exciting,” said AUSFF co-founder Malcolm Carfrae. “They presented and marketed their work with professionalism and a keen sense of innovation.”

At the event it was announced that there would be two exciting new educational grants added to the 2017 AUSFF internship prizes. The two winners will have the opportunity to stop in Hong Kong on the way to their internship in Europe or the USA and meet with industry experts at The Woolmark Company’s new Hong Kong Wool Resource Centre. This prize will allow the two emerging designers the chance to discover the latest innovations in wool, followed by a guided tour of China’s key manufacturers, spinners and weavers.

Judges present at the awardโ€™s announcement included AUSFF co-founder Malcolm Carfrae (Founder, Carfrae Consulting) alongside fashion stylist and icon Brana Wolf; fashion designer Dion Lee; Kellie Hush (Editor-in-Chief, Harperโ€™s BAZAAR); Laura Brown (Editor-In-Chief, InStyle US); fashion consultant and former VOGUE editor Nancy Pilcher, and Kara Hurry (Consultant).

The cocktail party to announce the winners was held at The Blue Room, Bondi Beach, Sydney, in partnership with The Woolmark Company. Other notable guests included: Christine Centenera, Simone Zimmermann, Jonathan Saunders, Eva Galambos, Carla Zampatti, Bianca Spender, Tanja Gacic, Alexandra Smart, Jessica Dietrich, Lincoln and Morgan Pilcher, Camilla Freeman-Topper and Marc Freeman.

The AUSFF Awards are open to designers, photographers, stylists, writers, and art directors – any fashion profession that meets the criteria of eligibility. To make a submission for the 2017/2018 AUSFF grants and for further information, visit